FacebookTwitterGoogle PlusRSS News Feed

The Allen Newell Award for Research Excellence

Award Description:

The Allen Newell Award for Research Excellence is awarded by the School of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon. It recognizes an outstanding body of work that epitomizes Allen Newell's research style as expressed in his words:

"Good science responds to real phenomena or real problems."
"Good science is in the details."
"Good science makes a difference."

Allen Newell Award for Research Excellence Winners and their Winning Bodies of Works

Eligible Recipients:

This award may be made for a body of work to an individual or to a group of individuals. Recipients need not be currently at Carnegie Mellon. However, key aspects of the work being recognized must have been done at Carnegie Mellon. Recent accomplishments will be favored over older ones, with the caveat that the early steps of a recently-completed piece of work may have occured many years ago.


Nominations may be submitted to the Chairman of the Award Committee: satya [atsymbol] cs ~replace-with-a-dot~ cmu ~replace-with-a-dot~ edu (Mahadev Satyanarayanan)

Nominations must consist of:

  • A brief description of the body of work being nominated
  • A clear explanation of how this work epitomizes Allen Newell's research style
  • Names of the key individuals who accomplished the work and their specific contributions
  • The committee will solicit more details as needed.  Committee members include:

Martial Hebert
Ken Koedinger
Mahadev Satyanarayanan (Chair)
Daniel P. Siewiorek

Tips for a Strong Nomination