Skip to Main Content

Manuela Veloso Elected as a 2010 AAAS Fellow

Byron SpiceTuesday, January 11, 2011

Manuela M. Veloso, the Herbert A. Simon Professor of Computer Science, is one of three Carnegie Mellon University faculty members elected as 2010 American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellows. AAAS fellowships are awarded to individuals for scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

Veloso is being cited for her "distinguished contributions to artificial intelligence, especially advances in automated planning, multi-agent systems, and robotics."

CMU faculty members joining her among the 2010 AAAS Fellows are John Lehoczky and Larry Wasserman

Lehoczky, dean of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences and the Thomas Lord Professor of Statistics, is being recognized "for significant and sustained contributions to the theory and applications of stochastic processes, particularly to the modeling of real-time computer systems and financial markets, and for his outstanding contributions to education both in the classroom and through academic administration."

Wasserman, a professor of statistics and machine learning, is being honored "for fundamental contributions to statistical theory and statistical machine learning, to applications of statistics in astronomy and genomics and to statistical pedagogy."

New AAAS fellows will be presented with an official certificate and rosette pin at the AAAS Fellows Forum on Saturday, Feb. 19 during the 2011 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington DC.

For More Information

Byron Spice | 412-268-9068 |